Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

The choice of name for this center reflects the project’s ambition: “Father Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, French Jesuit seeker, paleontologist, theologian and philosopher (1881-1955) brought a global vision to the sciences.  In the same way, the Teilhard de Chardin Center that will bear his name will embrace the scientific, social, and environmental challenges of our time within a Christian vision,” explains Rev. François Boëdec, provincial superior of the Jesuits in France and Francophone Western Europe.

Pierre-Teilhard-de-Chardin_12Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, born in 1881 in Sarcenat, close to Clermont-Ferrand, was a Jesuit priest, geologist, paleontologist, and paleoanthropologist. Throughout his life this renowned scientist, a great theorist of evolution, sought to unite science and faith. Based in China between 1923 and 1946, he traveled the world and frequented the most diverse and varied intellectual, scientific, and philosophical milieus. He died in New York on April 10, 1955, on Easter Sunday as he had wished.

Among his most well-known works are two major spiritual texts: Mass on the World (1923) and The Divine Milieu (1927).  In The Human Phenomenon (1940) he noted the place, and therefore dignity, that is unique to the human being as “axis and arrow of evolution”.

A man of passions

The fourth of 11 children, he received from his parents a natural education, within the meaning of both history and the current times, as well as a deep piety.  He was animated by a quest for “Consistency.” He first thought he found it in rocks and stones but, paradoxically, it was in the fragility of the living, and a living being in evolution, that he found it.

Teilhard participated in World War I as a stretcher bearer, refusing all opportunities for advancement in order to stay close to the soldiers.  He is listed in the Order of the Division of the Army, received the Military Medal, and then was made a Knight of the Legion of Honor at the request of his regiment.

His scientific work and contributions in geology and paleontology are recognized by the international scientific community, and a chair at the College of France was proposed to him but he was not able to accept it. In 1950, he was elected to the Academy of Sciences.

A Seeker of Unity

A Jesuit, Teilhard thought of being able to unify his founding double insight: the consistency of matter and the God revealed in Jesus Christ. Evolution proceeds from the most simple to the most complex, and humans are the key to the process of this history: God creates the world where humanity can meet Him.  Unity is formed in movement.  It is a new approach to the evolution of the universe. The individual is not isolated but inscribed in the cosmos.

He thus tried to create a synthesis between the place of man and the sense of Christ in the evolving universe. It is above all a Christological spirituality, an enlargened vision of the place and role of Christianity. Of a recapitulating Christ, beginning and end who awaits us, if we make the choice.

He was frequently misunderstood by the Church and suffered enormously for it, but his fidelity to the Church was without flaw because he did not disassociate the Church from Christ. One recognizes in his work most particularly the influence of the Fathers of the Church, Saint Paul, and Ignatian spirituality.

His life and work should be read like those of a seeker, a seeker who would not be on if he did not take “risks.”  And it was in the name of Christ to whom he gave himself without return that he did it. Marie Bayon de la Tour, secrétaire générale de l'Association des neveux du Père Teilhard de Chardin

Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

Le choix du nom traduit l’ambition du projet : « Le père Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, jésuite français chercheur, paléontologue, théologien et philosophe (1881-1955) a porté sur les sciences une vision globale. De la même façon le Centre Teilhard de Chardin qui portera son nom embrassera les problématiques scientifiques, sociétales et environnementales dans une vision chrétienne », explique le Père François Boëdec, Provincial de la Compagnie de Jésus.

Pierre-Teilhard-de-Chardin_12Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, né en 1881 à Sarcenat, près de Clermont-Ferrand, est prêtre, jésuite, géologue, paléontologue et paléoanthropologue. Tout au long de sa vie, ce scientifique réputé, grand théoricien de l’évolution, a voulu unir la science et la foi. Basé en Chine entre 1923 et 1946, il parcourt le monde et fréquente les milieux intellectuels, scientifiques et philosophiques les plus variés.  Il meurt à New-York le 10 avril 1955, dimanche de Pâques ainsi qu’il l’avait souhaité.

Parmi ses ouvrages les plus connus  on peut citer deux textes spirituels majeurs : « La messe sur le Monde »(1923) et Le Milieu divin(1927). Dans son ouvrage « Le Phénomène humain » (1940) il signale la place, et donc la dignité, uniques de l’homme « axe et flèche de l’évolution ».

Un homme passionné

Quatrième de onze enfants, il reçoit de ses parents une éducation à la nature, au sens de l’histoire et du temps, ainsi qu’une profonde piété. Une quête de la « Consistance » l’anime. Il pense la trouver d’abord dans les pierres mais, paradoxalement, c’est dans la fragilité du vivant, mais d’un vivant en  évolution qu’il la trouve.

Il participe comme brancardier, à la Première guerre mondiale, refuse tout avancement pour rester auprès des hommes. Il est cité à l’ordre de la Division, de l’Armée, reçoit la Médaille Militaire puis est fait Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur à la demande de son régiment.

Son œuvre scientifique de géologue et de paléontologue est reconnue par la communauté scientifique internationale. Une chaire au Collège de France lui est proposée, il ne pourra accepter. Il est élu en à l’Académie des Sciences en 1950.

Un chercheur de l’unité

Jésuite, le Père Teilhard pense pouvoir unifier sa double intuition fondatrice: la consistance de la matière et le Dieu révélé en Jésus-Christ. L’évolution va du plus simple au plus complexe et l’homme est la clé du processus de cette histoire Dieu crée le monde où l’homme peut Le rencontrer… L’unité se fait dans le mouvement, c’est une nouvelle approche de l’évolution de l’univers. L’individu n’est pas isolé, mais inscrit dans le cosmos.

Un mystique inscrit dans le Christ

Il a donc tenté, dans une synthèse et unique, de penser la place de l’homme et le sens du Christ dans l’univers en évolution. C’est une spiritualité d’abord christologique. Une vision élargie de la place et du rôle du christianisme. D’un Christ récapitulateur, alpha et oméga qui nous attend, si nous en faisons le choix.

Il fut souvent incompris de l’Eglise et en souffrit énormément, mais sa fidélité envers elle fut sans failles car il ne la dissociait pas du Christ. On retrouve en particulier dans son œuvre l’influence des Pères de l’Eglise, de Saint Paul et la spiritualité ignatienne.

Sa vie et son œuvre doivent être lus comme celles d’un chercheur, chercheur qui n’en serait pas un si il ne prenait pas de«  risques ». Et c’est au nom du Christ auquel il s’était donné sans retour qu’il le fit.

Marie Bayon de la Tour, secrétaire générale de l'Association des neveux du Père Teilhard de Chardin